## Who Sits Where in Parliament

The Parliament of Canada meets in the Parliament Buildings in Ottawa when Parliament is declared to be "in session" by the Govenor General. Canada has adopted much of our Parliamentary system from the British Parliament model with two houses (chambers)

The Crown - British Monarch (Queen Elizabeth II since 1956) who appoints the

Governor General on the recommendation of the Prime Minister.

House of Commons – Lower (Green) House

308 Elected Members of Parliament – 1 from each constituency (riding) of Canada

Government = Party with most Seats and Leader becomes Prime Minister

Official Opposition = Party with second most seats and Leader become Opposition Leader

Opposition = remaining elected members of Parliament – sit with Opposition

Speaker of House of Commons – is elected by all Members of Parliament following each General Election.

Senate - Upper (Red) House

**105** appointed Senators according representing Regions of Canada to give equal representation and over seeing decisions of House of Commons

Ontario - 24 Senators Quebec - 24 Senators

Atlantic Canada – 24 Senators – 10 New Brunswick + 20 Nova Scotia + 4 Prince Edward Island

Western Canada 24 Senators = 6 Manitoba + 6 Saskatchewan + 6 Alberta + 6 British Columbia

Newfoundland and Labrador – 6 Senators

Northern Territories – 3 Senators = Yukon 1 + North West Territories 1 + Nunavut 1

Speaker of Senate – is appointed by Govenor General on recommendation of Prime Minister.

Assignment: On the two Parliament of Canada Diagrams create a Color Code map of the following

Prime Minister, Speaker (x2), Leader of Opposition, Government MP's, Opposition MP's,

Sergeant of Arms, Usher of Black Rod, The Mace (x2) Crown Representative (Queen or GG) Leaders,